OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

JUL 20 1988

## **FILED**

## IN SUPREME COURT C3-88-1547

Order Establishing Supreme Court Task Force on Financing of the Trial Courts

ORDER

WHEREAS, the legislative and judicial branches of government have for more than twenty years worked in partnership to simplify and improve the organization and administration of the Minnesota State Court System;

WHEREAS, the trial courts are supported by a combination of state and county funds;

WHEREAS, 1988 Minn. Laws Chapter 582, Section 2 authorizes the Supreme Court to establish a task force to study the control and financing of the trial courts; and

WHEREAS, the continuing development of a strong, independent and unified judicial branch of state government and the continued assurance of adequate resources for its operations are of vital concern to the citizens of the state;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Supreme Court Task Force on Financing of the Trial Courts be, and hereby is, established to:

- Describe the current trial court financing system; determine the employees and programs which are covered; identify the costs borne and revenues received by state and local government relating to trial court operations; and define the lines of authority with respect to its administration and financing;
- 2. Develop alternatives to the current system of financing the trial courts; and
- 3. Evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of the current and proposed alternative trial court financing systems.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following persons be, and hereby are,

appointed as members of the Supreme Court Task Force on Financing of the Trial

## Courts:

Honorable Douglas K. Amdahl, Chairperson Minnesota Supreme Court 230 State Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-5037

Sue Alliegro, District Administrator Second Judicial District Administrator Ramsey County Courthouse St. Paul, MN 55102 (612) 298-4374

Honorable Kevin S. Burke Fourth Judicial District 12-C Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612) 348-4389

Harriette Burkhalter League of Women Voters 5 West St. Albans Hopkins, MN 55343 (612) 935-3002

Representative Terry Dempsey
Minnesota House of Representatives
261 State Office Building
St. Paul, MN 55155
(612) 296-9303

Sue K. Dosal, State Court Administrator Minnesota Supreme Court 230 State Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-2474

Honorable Bruce R. Douglas, Chief Judge Tenth Judicial District P.O. Box 207 Buffalo, MN 55313 (612) 339-6881 Ext. 144

Richard Fasnacht, District Administrator Blue Earth Government Center 410 South Fifth Street - P.O. Box 3366 Mankato, MN 56001 (507) 388-5204

Lani Kawamura, Director State Planning Agency 100 Capitol Square Building St. Paul, Minnesota 55101 (612) 296-2802 Honorable Peter J. Lindberg, Chief Judge Fourth Judicial District 12-C Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612) 348-4900

Senator William P. Luther Minnesota Senate 205 Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-8869

Paul McAlpine, President Association of Minnesota Counties 555 Park Street - Suite 300 St. Paul, MN 55103 (612) 682-3900

Senator James Ramstad Minnesota Senate 123 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-9251

Joseph Ries, Scott County Administrator Scott County Courthouse 428 S. Holmes Shakopee, MN 55379 (612) 445-7750

Representative Wayne Simoneau Minnesota House of Representatives 335 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-4331

Marie Sunlitis Court Administrator Wright County Courthouse Buffalo, MN 55313 (612) 339-6881

Honorable John J. Weyrens, Asst. Chief Judç Eighth Judicial District Meeker County Courthouse Litchfield, MN 55355

## IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that:

1. The following persons be, and hereby are, designated as ex-officio/non-voting members of the task force:

Bambridge Peterson Assoc. of Minnesota Counties 555 Park Street - Suite 300 St. Paul, MN 55103 (612) 224-3344

Peggy Flicker Assoc. of Minnesota Counties 555 Park Street - Suite 300 St. Paul, MN 55103 (612) 224-3344

2. Judith L. Rehak, Esq., Administrative Services Director of the Office of the State Court Administrator, be, and hereby is, designated as staff director of the task force.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the task force report its findings to the Supreme Court and the Legislature by February 1, 1989.

Dated July 20 , 1988

Douglas K. Amdahl Chief Justice of the Supreme Court

of the State of Minnesota

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

JUL 20 1988

**FILED**